Your Library

Once again, I`ve been wandering through the internet and found this, the most amazing (personal) library. How brilliant! How divine! Because even if you have not been blessed with a house with a spare room that can serve as a library, you can convert a closet into a magical space. A home for your most precious printed material. (No doubt even you non-book-worm friends would admire it`s cleverness.)




Leave a comment

Filed under book store/library

(Most of) The Little House Books in Their Full Glory, etc.

Recently, I`ve been reliving the comfort and excitement that I find in the Little House Books. Yes, perhaps it`s juvenile at my age, but the books have been my rock for decades. So, when I found them in their pdf form among the wonders of the internet, I had to link them here for your enjoyment. (`Tis the season for having time to read, after all.)

Little House on the Prairie, Farmer Boy, On the Banks of Plum Creek, By the Shores of Silver Lake, The Long Winter, Little Town on the Prairie, These Happy Golden Years.


The Ingalls Family in Real Life: (left to right) Ma, Grace, Laura, Pa, Carrie, Mary

Little House Recipes



Picture credit 1, Picture credit 2: Pinterest

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Perfect Happiness is….

…reading a book you love, glancing at the time and realizing that you still have lots of reading time left.


Picture credit

Leave a comment

Filed under stories and mutterings

This is Anne of Green Gables



OR this is Anne of Green Gables

Megan Follows as Anne of Green Gables

Megan Follows as Anne of Green Gables

This is NOT Anne of Green Gables


Now that the controversy seems to have died down a bit, I will join what’s left of the fray in support of Anne remaining a precocious, imaginative, chatty, red-haired girl with freckles and pigtails (see first two pics). Anne is also a courageous, bright, wholesome role model for young girls, which is something that is seriously lacking in our society today. And now they want to take away Anne and replace her with this new image (see third pic)?

Plus, Anne is a Canadian symbol, like the maple leaf, the beaver and the Rockies. AND she attract tourists. What more could she possibly do for us?

So, thank you fellow Canadians for expressing your outrage at this new depiction of Anne.

Read more here: Anne of Green Gables: Blond, Buxom and Vampy?, Blonde Anne of Green Gables Sparks Outrage

To read the beloved novel by Lucy Maud Montgomery, click here.

P.S. If you’ve ever wondered what a “gable” is, this is a “gable”:


Picture credits: Google images

Leave a comment

Filed under book characters

Why Reading Is Great for Your Amazing Brain

  • exercises many parts of the brain and strengthens neural linkages
  • develops/deepens capacity to empathize
  • helps with healing of mental and emotional disorders as well as brain injuries

Leave a comment

Filed under movie

A Few Little Free Libraries


Little free library 2

little library 002

U.S. Trend of “Little Libraries” Comes North

Picture source: Google images


Filed under book store/library

Kevin O’Leary at Chapters

This one’s for fans of Dragons’ Den, Shark Tank and money management…Kevin O’Leary will be signing copies of his latest book, “Cold Hard Truth on Men, Women and Money”, at Chapters (Rideau Centre, Ottawa) on January 31 at 7:00 p.m..

canadian-moneyPicture credit

Leave a comment

Filed under book event