Widow of the South by Robert Hicks

Guest Review by Nicole

Hello – I’m Nicole and I blog at Apples and Arteries.  I’m an avid reader and this year decided to set a goal of 50 Books in 2012.  I’m well on my way and am excited to share #15: Widow of the South by Robert Hicks.

This is a book that I’ve seen at the public library shelves and I finally decided to pick it up to take along for airplane reading.  I enjoy reading historical fiction and this was the first novel I’ve read that takes place during the Civil War.

The story is based on a true story and flashes back to 1864 during the Battle of Franklin in Tennessee, where 9,000 men lost their lives.  Carrie McGavok came to be known as the Widow of the South.  Her family home was commandeered for a Confederate field hospital and the McGavok’s are surrounded by death.

I don’t want to share too much about the characters and evolving storylines.  The novel is a mix of history, drama, relationships, agony, and freedom.  I hope you’ll pick it up and enjoy it as much as I did.

Thanks for the opportunity to guest post.  You can find me on Twitter (@applesarteries) and I hope you’ll stay tuned to my blog to read more about my 50 books and share your suggestions.

1 Comment

Filed under book review

One response to “Widow of the South by Robert Hicks

  1. Pingback: 15, 16, 17, 18 Down, 32 to Go | Apples and Arteries

Share your thoughts

