Go the Fuck to Sleep by Adam Mansbach

I LOVE kids. I often ask God why I can’t have any.

Kids love me. It is not unusual for them to follow me around as if I were the Pied Piper.

But, I can understand some to the frustration that comes from being around small children. So does the author of “Go the Fuck to Sleep”.

The book is written in verse from the perspective of a frustrated parent whose child refuses to go to sleep. The first two lines of each verse begins much like something you’d read to a child to persuade them to sleep; the second two lines express the frustration and refer to all the ways that young children try to get out of sleeping. Then, it just moves into the frustration of having a whole evening ruined.

“The tiger reclines in the simmering jungle,

The sparrow has silenced her cheep,

Fuck your stuffed bear, I’m not getting you shit,

Close your eyes. Cut the crap. Sleep.”

You will be able to relate and you will laugh out loud.

The “clean” version of the book that I found at Octopus Books.

Related: What I should be doing – Samuel L. Jackson reads “Go the Fuck to Sleep”

4 Comments

Filed under book review

4 responses to “Go the Fuck to Sleep by Adam Mansbach

  1. Brenda A.

    This was quite popular in the media a few months ago and is still gaining popularity! An off coloured future classic?

  2. Nancy

    There’s a YouTube video of Samuel L. Jackson reading it. Funny!

Share your thoughts

