Category Archives: book event

Kevin O’Leary at Chapters

This one’s for fans of Dragons’ Den, Shark Tank and money management…Kevin O’Leary will be signing copies of his latest book, “Cold Hard Truth on Men, Women and Money”, at Chapters (Rideau Centre, Ottawa) on January 31 at 7:00 p.m..

canadian-moneyPicture credit

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under book event

Wild by Cheryl Strayed – Live Chat with Author

Cheryl Strayed lost her mother, her marriage and almost all hope when she did something that few people would dare: with no experience, she hiked eleven-hundred miles through desert and mountains, staring down snakes, bears and facing extreme weather — and she did it alone. Her memoir, Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail, has been at the top of the New York Times bestseller list for weeks and was the first selection of Oprah’s Book Club 2.0. Now, you can talk to Cheryl Strayed about her book and what inspired it in a live chat — be a part of the discussion, Thursday at 1 p.m. ET.

Leave a comment

Filed under book event, interview

Ottawa Small Press Book Fair

…is taking place Saturday, June 30, 2012, at the Jack Purcell Community Centre from 12:00 – 5:00 p.m. and is free to the public.

For more information, click here.

Photo credit: Pinterest

Leave a comment

Filed under book event

Local Book Bits

Big Little Book Sale: June 2, 2012; 8:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

2821 8th Line Road,
Metcalfe

Gently used Adult and Children’s books, sorted by genre and some popular authors. Steps from the Metcalfe Farmer’s Market. The sale is in support of the Live and Learn Resource Centre, part of the registered charity Rural Family Connections.

For more info call 613-821-2899 or info@ruralfamilyconnections.ca

————————————————————————————————————————–

Lunchtime Poetry Reading: June 19, 2012; 12:00 p.m.

 Main Branch of the Ottawa Public Library

A lunchtime poetry reading. John Lee and Sydney Lea, an American and Canadian poet, will read some of their work. Readings will be followed by Q&A.

—————————————————————————————————————————
Tween Girls’ Book Club: June 27, 2012; 1:30 p.m.
St-Laurent Branch of the Ottawa Public Library
The Tween Book Club is a fun way to read great new books and hang out with friends at the same time! Ages 10-13. Register by calling 613-748-1531 ext. 221.
—————————————————————————————————————————
Teen Boys Book Club: June 27, 2012; 2:45 p.m.
St-Laurent Branch of the Ottawa Public Library
Want to meet guys your age and discuss books, movies and games while munching on brownies? Then, why not join our book club? Ages 13+ Register by calling 613-748-1531 ext. 221.
—————————————————————————————————————————
Kanata Writer’s Group: August 22, 2012; 7:00 p.m.
Hazeldean Branch of the Ottawa Public Library
The Kanata Writers’ Group encourages the art of literary composition. Only the June 13th meeting will be held in the Lower Level Activity Room at the Glen Cairn Community Centre. Visit thekanatawritersgroup.blogspot.com for more information.


Leave a comment

Filed under book event

Calling All Harry Potter Fans!

Join a Live Chat today, May 29, at 3 p.m. ET to discuss Harry Potter’s influence on culture.

Moderated by Dr. Ruth Dunley, the Chat’s panelist’s will include:

  • Gráinne O’Brien, whose academic work is centred on the Harry Potter Series and the Hunger Games and is one of the chief organizers of Magic is Might 2012 (an international academic conference exploring the cultural influence of the Harry Potter books and films) which is to take place this July in Ireland
  • Jadwiga O’Brien, a member of the conference’s abstract-review committee and also a student of film theory

So, put on your wizard hats and join in on the Chat.

(If you reeeeeally can’t make…there’s always the option of watching the Chat in replay.)

Leave a comment

Filed under book event

Spring Fling at the Woodroffe Avenue Public School

The Woodroffe Avenue PS is having it’s annual fundraiser. It’s main theme has always been a book sale. Tables packed with books of all kinds. Plus, the school is right across from the Carling branch of the Ottawa Public Library. So, as you can see, if you like books, this is the place to be.

This year, there will also be pony rides, a moonbounce, BBQ, carnival games, a bake sale, a photo booth, etc., etc.

Spring Fling takes place on Friday, June 1st, 4:30p.m.-8:00 p.m. at  Woodroffe Avenue Public School, 235 Woodroffe Ave..

As an added bonus the book sale will also run on Thursday, May 31st 4:00 – 8:00pm.

For information you can call:  (613) 828-2884

Leave a comment

Filed under book event

Here Comes the Festival of Trees!

It’s actually not about trees (much to my surprise). It’s an annual festival, organized by the Ontario Library Organization that encourages reading across the province and recognizes Canadian children’s books authors and illustrators. It’s also a great opportunity to meet some of your favourite authors and illustrators and to participate in games and win prizes.

I had a wonderful opportunity to speak with Meredith Tutching, Program Coordinator, from her office in Toronto:

What is the Festival of Trees about?

The Festival is the culmination of the Forest of Reading Awards. We have 7 trees that are in our forest and 5 of them are geared towards kids. So, these are the kids programs that are wrapping up. There are a quarter of a million kids from across the province that read Canadian books that were on our short list, ending in the month of April. And the winners are being announced tomorrow and Wednesday and 12 of those  nominated authors are coming to Ottawa.

How do you choose the books that are nominated?

The books are submitted by publishers from across the country (they’re all Canadian publishers). We have teachers and librarians who have selection experience and they read all of the books that are sent in to submission and they short list it to down to 10.

The Festival in Ottawa will focus on the Silver Birch and Red Maple Programs? What are they about?

The Silver Birch is geared towards kids that are in grades 3 to 6 and the Red Maple is for kids in grades 7 and 8. And, so, in the Silver Birch there are 3 lists: a fiction list, a non-fiction list and a list called the express list, which is geared towards the grade 3 or 4 reader and the more reluctant reader and it’s a mixture of fiction and non-fiction. And Red Maple is just a list of fiction this year. And, so, that’s 40 books among the 4 programs.

When did the Festival start?

The Festival is in it’s 5th year. We did have small ceremonies before. The Program started in 1993 with just the Silver Birch. And it was a small Program and it’s just grown. And different people have come to us from across the province to add more trees to our forest. And, so, then we added Red Maple and it’s sort of grown and we have White Pine and Bruce Spruce and all sorts of different trees. We, now, have a French program and this year, in October, we’re going to be launching a French picture book program. 

And, finally, can you tell us about the nominated authors, who are going to be present at the Festival?

We have over 80 of the authors coming to Toronto over the 2 days and we have 12 of the authors coming to Ottawa. None of them know if they’re short-listed or if they’re winners. So, it will be a big surprise to them tomorrow and Wednesday. And, hopefully, there will be some winners among those who are going to Ottawa.

Each author will be doing a workshop and an autographing session. The authors and illustrators coming to Ottawa this year are: Philipa Dowding, Natalie Hyde, Jan Andrews, Anna Kerz, Rachna Gilmore, Jill MacLean, Patrick Bowman, Sharon E. McKay, Bill Slavin, Romi Caron, Susin Nielsen, Anna Ziegler.

The Ottawa Festival of Trees is taking place on May 17th, from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. at the Fieldhouse, Carleton University. Tickets are $10 +HST and can be purchased on-line. For more details, you can click here.

Leave a comment

Filed under book event, interview