Tag Archives: book

Your Library

Once again, I`ve been wandering through the internet and found this, the most amazing (personal) library. How brilliant! How divine! Because even if you have not been blessed with a house with a spare room that can serve as a library, you can convert a closet into a magical space. A home for your most precious printed material. (No doubt even you non-book-worm friends would admire it`s cleverness.)

Image

Image

Source

Leave a comment

Filed under book store/library

(Most of) The Little House Books in Their Full Glory, etc.

Recently, I`ve been reliving the comfort and excitement that I find in the Little House Books. Yes, perhaps it`s juvenile at my age, but the books have been my rock for decades. So, when I found them in their pdf form among the wonders of the internet, I had to link them here for your enjoyment. (`Tis the season for having time to read, after all.)

Little House on the Prairie, Farmer Boy, On the Banks of Plum Creek, By the Shores of Silver Lake, The Long Winter, Little Town on the Prairie, These Happy Golden Years.

Image

The Ingalls Family in Real Life: (left to right) Ma, Grace, Laura, Pa, Carrie, Mary

Little House Recipes

Image

 

Picture credit 1, Picture credit 2: Pinterest

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Perfect Happiness is….

…reading a book you love, glancing at the time and realizing that you still have lots of reading time left.

teabook

Picture credit

Leave a comment

Filed under stories and mutterings

A Few Little Free Libraries

Little-Free-Library

Little free library 2

little library 002

littlefreelibrary.org

U.S. Trend of “Little Libraries” Comes North

Picture source: Google images

2 Comments

Filed under book store/library

Kevin O’Leary at Chapters

This one’s for fans of Dragons’ Den, Shark Tank and money management…Kevin O’Leary will be signing copies of his latest book, “Cold Hard Truth on Men, Women and Money”, at Chapters (Rideau Centre, Ottawa) on January 31 at 7:00 p.m..

canadian-moneyPicture credit

Leave a comment

Filed under book event

‘Tis the Season…

reading

 

Source: Facebook

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

Why Does Santa Wear Red by Meera Lester

Why-Does-Santa-Wear-Red

This is such a fun book for anyone who loves Christmas, fun facts, yummy recipes, crafts, pop culture, home decorating, traditions from around the world,  history….I love it! I haven’t even finished reading it from end to end (so far, I’ve zeroed in on information about Santa and Christmas traditions (in North America)). But, I would like to share a few interesting tidbits with you:

  • Christmas was illegal in New England until 1681 and “it was only in the years after the [civil] war that Christmas began to win slow acceptance as a cause for revelry in various regions of the United States, and only at the dawn of the nineteenth century did any meaningful references to the man we would call Santa Claus begin to appear.” (Christmas was illegal????)
  • Why Does Santa Ride a Reindeer-Driven Sleigh? Santa flying around in a sleigh pulled by one reindeer…had long been popular in Russia where Father Frost arrived in villages in a reindeer-drawn sleigh. The Norse god Wodin was said to ride his horse Sleipner through the air to make sure people were behaving; in Holland, Santa rides Sleipner to this day.”
  • Why a Red Suit? Think bishop’s cape and you have the answer. Nicholas…..was the bishop of the church at Smyrna (Izmir in modern Turkey). He lived during the fourth century and was known to be kind and generous to children, especially to the very poor, giving away his wealth to them. Tradition states that he tossed special little gifts or bags of gold to them through open windows or down chimneys.”
  • “The earliest Christmas ornaments consisted of edible goodies, typically fruits and nuts. Eventually, these made way for cookies, candy and cakes….the first commercial ornaments for Christmas trees were actually hollow, brightly colored containers that held good things to eat….originally, trees were the means by which presents were displayed  on Christmas morning before their owners claimed them.”
  • Why are red and green the colors of Christmas? No one really knows for sure, but there have been plenty of educated guesses. Green….is the color of the evergreens that symbolize so much that is important to the meaning of the holiday….the holly berry seems to be responsible for the red. This red berry lives through winter, thus symbolizing life in the face of death, a representation of Christ.”

Finally, (and this is not in the book, but it is for real) if you are planning to write to Santa Claus, you have until December 17. Yup, you can write to Santa and he will write back. You can write by regular mail to this address:

Santa Claus

North Pole HOH OHO

Canada

(No need to attach a stamp, if you’re mailing your letter from Canada.)

Or, click here to send an email.

MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE!

letterstosanta

Photo credit 1, Photo credit 2

Leave a comment

Filed under book review